Customer reviews for Ojon super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Ojon.

Ojon super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment

Overall rating:
3.125 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
10 out of 16(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Review 1 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Written by: Realcurls
Location: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Hair Type: dehydrated, dry
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? Yes

I will use it again

 Date:February 26, 2012
Best for: Frizzy hair
"Lets start with my hair type. I have real medium to tight curls and not like the model they used. Like a real black girl or a spanish girl with nappy hair. I have not had a relaxer or any chemicals in my hair in 10 years so my hair was completely virgin hair. I followed the instructions and because my hair curls are so tight my hair would not stay straight like the directions wanted you to keep your hair. I washed out the product with conditioner like instructed and noticed no difference. NOW the next wash...my curls were still there but they hung longer. I did not break the brush, like I usually do and it was much easier to blow dry my hair. I could comb through my wet curls, which was a miracle. I used bigger sections when I flatironed and my hair came out straighter. I went to work the next day and ALL my co workers thought I got my hair washed in the salon and wanted to know what I did differently. I will say the smell is a little more than MILD. I had to open the window . I have allergies so I can never smell anything but I smelled this, and my hair did smell like relaxer for a week but washed out after my next wash. Also I if you have long hair or thick hair you may need an extra bottle. My hair is 16 inches long when straingt and I almost ran out before I applied to all my hair. The bottle size is too small for long thick hair. In the end I will use again. I hope this helped"
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Written by: ginette
Location: Ellenton, Fl
Age: 35-44
Hair Type: normal
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? Yes

Definitely improves manageability

 Date:March 5, 2012
Best for: Frizzy hair, Coarse hair
"I have natural coarse, African American (4c) type. My biggest fear was that the super sleek might straighten my hair like a relaxer, so I kept it for 3 weeks, waiting for some helpful reviews. For a while, the only reviews I could find were the ones saying that it doesn't work at all for coarse 4c hair, so therefore I decided that I guess there's no fear of it straightening my hair, meaning I have nothing to lose. This weekend I went ahead and used it with no great expectations. Boy, was I surrised.
When I first started putting it on my hair, my hair is so thick that I had to spend the first 15 minutes combing it through, but after the first 5 minutes, my comb started gliding through, which gave me hope. I left it on for about 35 minutes. When I rinsed it, I felt my hair feeling soft, nothing more. However, after I followed it with my deep treatment, I was like, no way. My hair was very, very soft, almost a bit straight (scary) but when I applied my gel, it curled right up as usual. Exactly what I've been looking for.
The smell is a little overbearing for the first day though. I will wait to see how long the effect last, but if it does last as it claims, I will absolutely use this for life. Thanks Ojon.
"
27 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Written by: Northstar
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Age: 45-54
Hair Type: dehydrated, dry
Hair Concern: dryness
Recommend to a friend? Yes

Love this product! Thank you Ojon!

 Date:January 13, 2013
Best for: Frizzy hair, Damaged or Chemically-processed hair, Dry hair
"I first tried this medium to tight curl product with very modest expectations a few months after a professional salon (organically based/ no formaldehyde) keratin treatment. I have very tight curls (African descent).
The shampoo was mild and not overpowering scent-wise.
The straightening lotion itself had an odor - it's the keratin protein - but not anywhere near as strong as the professional formulation I'd experienced before. I found it easier to part my hair, apply the lotion near the root along the strand, and then comb that strand before moving on instead of combing it through only at the end. My curly hair kept recoiling throughout the processing time in spite of the periodic combing as per the instructions, so it was hard to see if the product was having any effect. I inadvertently kept it in for 45 minutes (vs the 30 minutes in the instructions) so I was hoping I wouldn't pay for that oversight in the results.
I could feel the results on rinsing it out and even more so with the application of the conditioner which left it really soft and with a soft wavy texture. Blowdrying my hair left it straighter than I'd previously experienced with the salon treatment. By the time I passed a ceramic iron through my dried hair, I had smooth,shiny and healthy looking hair from roots to ends.
My only question is that the instructions say to throw out the remaining solution after one application, but I don't understand why - the lotion isn't mixed with any activator and the bottle was not sealed in any way with a peel off foil or cap.
Nonetheless, this is a definite keeper - mild enough to be worry free, great results and certainly more affordable than the salon alternative. I have now been using it for almost a year, and my hair is in great condition and much softer than when i chemically straightened it. I'd recommend it to friends, and will definitely buy again and again!
"
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Written by: Phatjules
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Age: 55-64
Hair Type: normal
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? No

did not work for me

 Date:February 15, 2012
"I purchased this product when it was recommended by the Today Show. They obviously never used it as i had to wait for the back-order to clear. I have long curly gray hair and for years wanted a safe non-damaging way to straighten my hair. After receiving the product i was shocked to see it is a one use only bottle. OK I'll try it and if it works it is worth it. Guess what, it didn't do a thing more than the recommended flat iron procedure. I had never used a flat iron so my girlfriend had to run out and buy one. After the application and drying my hair, boing, back to curly hair. But now my hair stinks to high heaven as a bonus. Maybe it will work for you but I'll never use it again and I'm writing a letter to the Today Show to thank them as well."
33 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Written by: MsMarie
Location: California
Age: 45-54
Hair Type: color-treated
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? Yes

Easy to use, definitely gives hair a smoother texture

 Date:September 28, 2012
Best for: Frizzy hair, Coarse hair
"I am happy with the results and would probably buy this product again. It left my hair smoother and reduced the frizz. I do agree with previous reviews - this product has an unpleasant odor. The smell reminds me of a permanent wave solution on a wet dog. I also noticed it the first few times that I washed my hair, the smell came back when my hair was wet. To me, the results are worth it. I can air dry my hair without it looking like a frizz-ball and it cuts down on styling time. I still need to use product in my hair to prevent it from getting fluffy halfway through a humid day but the initial styling is a lot easier. Applying it is a breeze - not much more work than my routine when i apply a deep conditioning treatment: work the product through the hair, leave it on for 30 minutes, rinse, blow dry and flat iron. My only challenge is that i color my hair every 4 weeks so i have a very small window of time when i would be able to use the super sleek treatment since it is not recommended for use 2 weeks before or after color treatment."
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Written by: snipgirl
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Age: 35-44
Hair Type: color-treated
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? Yes

AWESOME product, Please Read!

 Date:May 2, 2013
Best for: Frizzy hair, Coarse hair, Color-treated hair
"There are a lot of bad reviews on this, but it worked great for me, so please read and see if it might work for you like it did me. I am Caucasian with very thick very curly (spirals/s-waves) hair that is color-treated, so tends to be dry, tangle-prone and frizzy. I DON'T blow out my hair before flat ironing, but regardless it takes me average an hour and 15 minutes to iron. I followed the directions using the shampoo first, applying this product for about 25-30 min, then conditioner and let it air-dry because I was busy. The smell is not THAT bad, but it lingered for a few hours as my hair dried. My hair was visibly less curly, more wavy instead and very soft. When I flat ironed it after dried, it took me only 30 MINUTES, no lie, no products, hairspray, serums. Very soft, very little hair pulled out when ironing, and my hair is extremely smooth, soft and I don't really smell the product odor anymore. I highly recommend this product and using the accompanying shampoo and conditioner, I had no expectations but I am amazed at just the time-saving alone. This is thoroughly worth the price and less damaging than salon chemical straightening, easy to use and gave me great results. Love it!"
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Written by: Lina32
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Age: 25-34
Hair Type: dehydrated, dry
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? No

Don't waste your money

 Date:March 6, 2012
Best for: Frizzy hair
"My hair smells from this product like perm/relaxer and didn't help my frizz. After the first wash my hair feels gummy and dry. After blow drying it I feel my hair looks dry and unhealthy. I want to get this out of my hair ASAP."
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Written by: dahlialove
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Hair Type: dehydrated, dry
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? Yes

Simply Amazing

 Date:March 1, 2012
Best for: Frizzy hair, Coarse hair
"Really helped make my hair more manageable. I have shampooed 3 times now and the texture of my hair is soft and slightly wavy - I have very curly hair naturally. Will definitely be purchasing again instead of getting Keratin treatments at the salon!!! Seriously, I have had 2 professional keratin treatments and this products is almost the same."
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Written by: Lane
Location: Alabama
Age: 45-54
Hair Type: color-treated
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? Yes

Not for anyone with very curly or very frizzy hair.

 Date:February 27, 2012
"I tried this product after seeing it recommended on The Today Show. I could not find this in the stores which normally carry Ojon products, so I ordered online. As the other review states, it (and the shampoo and the conditioner) was on back order. Once I received all 3 products, I gave it a try. It improved my curls and frizz to a degree, but not much. It does smell until your next day's shampoo. I am guessing that this is not as "strong" as a salon's products. So if you have just some curls and/or some frizz, this may be all you need for an affordable price. If you have extremely curly and/or frizzy hair, do not waste your time/money....go to the salon!!!!"
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Written by: Sary
Location: Laurel, MD, USA
Received Free Sample: No
Age: 55-64
Hair Type: color-treated
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? Yes
Received Free Sample: No

Great for course frizzy puffy hair

 Date:December 14, 2013
Best for: Frizzy hair, Coarse hair
"I tried this and love it. I have frizzy puffy hair that I have trouble controlling even with a flat iron. I've had the Brazilian Formaldehyde treatment at the salon and this worked much better. When I went to the hairdresser after applying this she said my hair looked good -- was it because I'd been wearing a hat. Then after the shampoo she was amazed after the shampoo."
Review 11 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Written by: FormerCustomer
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 45-54
Hair Type: normal
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? No

Completely dissatisfied

 Date:August 12, 2012
"I bought this product hoping to get a treatment that was not smelly and would keep the frizz down and this product did neither. It made my hair more frizzy and smelled awful. I am still dealing with that smell in my hair everytime I wash it and I do that every day, it has been over a week and I smell that horrible perm type smell.
Do not waste your money on this product."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Written by: Laura
Location: Madison, MS
Recommend to a friend? No

Does not work...

 Date:August 17, 2012
"I followed the directions exactly as they were spelled out for use of this product. Not only does it smell TERRIBLE but it did absolutely nothing to my hair. I mean ZERO difference. I do not recommend wasting your money on this product."
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Written by: Shelley
Location: Columbia,MD
Age: 35-44
Hair Type: dehydrated, dry
Hair Concern: damage
Recommend to a friend? Yes

Great Chemical Alternative

 Date:February 26, 2012
"First , let me share my daughter's hair care regimen. I use WEN daily on my daughter's hair and Ojon Restorative hair treatment at least once every other week. She has frizzy, naturally curly hair with a tight ,wavy pattern. I used this treatment today and could tell instantly ,after rinsing ,I had achieved my goals: less tight, frizzy hair. Her wave pattern appeared relaxed and her hair was super soft after using the Ojon Super Sleek conditioner. Hair looked great after flat ironing, too!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Written by: Jenny
Location: Shoreline, WA
Age: 35-44
Hair Type: dehydrated, dry
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? No

My hair looks frizzier than before

 Date:April 20, 2012
"My hair is color treated, fine and I have some wave to it. I used the program and followed the steps. Today I washed my hair with the sleek shampoo and conditioner and let it air dry (I don't usually have enough time in the morning to blow dry or flat iron). My hair is frizzier than before the treatment. Very disappointed."
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Written by: faraji23
Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
Age: 25-34
Hair Type: dehydrated, dry
Hair Concern: frizz
Recommend to a friend? No

Waste of time

 Date:April 14, 2013
"I have very tightly curled 4a/4b hair and I have tried other keratin treatments at home. I saw this at the store and decided to get it. I can't say if this is because I haven't blow dried my hair in a while, but this product did NOT improve my curl at all!
I washed my hair with a sulfate free shampoo and applied the product. The smell was awful, stay in a ventilated area if using this. I left it in for about 30 minutes and rinsed it out. I could barely get my hair blow dried. I find that my hair was better before I applied this product! It was so tight and dry. I couldn't finish the blow drying so I didn't get to flat iron. I literally threw away 40 dollars. I have liked other Ojon products I tried but this one missed big time!
"
Review 16 for super sleek™ Hair Straightening Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Written by: tonya
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Age: 25-34
Hair Type: dehydrated, dry
Hair Concern: dryness
Recommend to a friend? Yes

straightenin serum

 Date:January 10, 2013
Best for: Coarse hair, All hair types
"I have very tight curls and this product has loosened the curls somewhat I want to try this product again and see if it straightens my curls more because I am not going to use over the counter products to straighten my hair again. I just would not use the whole bottle again and would insist that customers take the advice of the ojon sales reps."